Skip to main content

Purdue Honorary Doctorates records

 Collection — Box: Communal Collections 65, Placement: 12, Folder: 1
Identifier: UA 169

Scope and Contents

The records are a compilation of all individuals that received honorary doctorates from Purdue between 1888 and 2013. The list contains the date and discipline the degrees which were awarded. Famous honorary doctorates include Neil Armstrong, Eugene Cernan, Mitch Daniels, A. Leon Higginbotham, Jr., and Darlene Clark Hine.


  • 1888 - 2013

Language of Materials

Collection material is in English.

Access Information

The collection is open for research.

Copyright and Use Information

Copyright held by Purdue University. Consult with Purdue University Archives and Special Collections prior to reproduction of materials.

Historical Information

Purdue University awarded 841 Honorary Doctorates between 1888 and 2013. The first degrees were awarded in 1888 to Alembert Winthrop Brayton in Science and John Newell Hurty in Pharmacy. Famous Purdue related individuals, such as George Ade, Lillian Moller Gilbreth, Andrey Abraham Potter, France Anne-Dominic Córdova, and Mitchell Daniels are among the recipients of the honoary doctorates.


0.05 Cubic Feet (Collection is housed in one folder in a letter-size manuscript communal box.)

Acquisition Information

Collection was transferred from Purdue University Board of Trustees.

Processing Information

The original order of the materials has been housed in an acid-free folder.
Purdue Honorary Doctorates records
Jennifer Sdunzik
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description
Language of description note
Edition statement
First edition.

Repository Details

Part of the Purdue University Archives and Special Collections Repository

504 Mitch Daniels Boulevard
West Lafayette Indiana 47907 United States