Skip to main content Skip to search Skip to search results

Eurodelphian Literary Society. Beta Chapter (Purdue University)



  • Existence: 1917 - 1936

Historical Information

The Eurodelphian Literary Society was started at Purdue in 1917 as a local women's society dedicated to literary discussion and debate. Shortly therafter, the members of the society learned of a second Eurodelphian Society at Kansas State University and contacted them about the prospect of creating a national version of the group. The two local chapeters were successful in doing so and became the first national literary society to be established for women in 1919.

The Purdue chapter of the national society was named the Beta chapter. The Beta chapter constitution found in this collection indicates that there were at least six chapters of the natinal society. The club maintainted strict academic requirements for admission, including an "A" average in all English classesm and a "B" average for all other classes. The Eurodelphians found strong support from Dean Carolyn Shoemaker, who instituted the annual award of the Eurodelphian medal that was awarded to a senior member of outstanding achievement. Shoemaker also helped inspire the merger between Eurodelphians and the Philaletheans to form a more unified and stronger society in the face of declining memberships. The new society retained the name of the Philaletheans and lasted until 1936, when it appears that honoraries took the place of literary societies due to decreased interest and membership, likely due to the expanded availability of women's activities at Purdue.


MSP 124, Eurodelphian Literary Society records, Purdue University Archives and Special Collections, Purdue University Libraries.

Found in 1 Collection or Record:

Eurodelphian Literary Society records

 Collection — Box: 1
Identifier: MSP 124
Abstract Collection includes record books documenting the activities, meetings, and members of the Eurodelphian Literary Society, as well as documents relating to their rituals and the national chapter.
Dates: 1920 - 1932